The Return Visits to the Doctor’s Office

The day of, emptying out my wallet here, buying things that make me look, “pretty”, as I age…translated…

I’d looked after my mother for a whole of nine years, and in this time, other than taking her to the doctors’ office, returning to my own doctors’ visits, we’d rarely, traveled around.  One day as I’d gone to the clinic sessions on my own, I saw a coat inside a display window opposite of the street, it was my favorite color, light yellow, with a tiny white daisy on it, I almost went in to purchase, but, I’d considered, that I don’t have that many opportunities to come out of the house, buying new clothes, doesn’t really, fit my, needs at all, and, something so pretty, radiant in color, doesn’t really, fit me either……after I’d struggled a bit, I’d, left quickly, not even, gone into the shop to look around.

like this…photo from online

I’d told mom about this as I’d arrived home, she’d asked, “why didn’t you buy the coat?  I’d bought all your clothes from before, you were really not selective, whatever I bought, you’d, worn, but I knew you didn’t like it.  Based off of my health conditions, I may not be able to go out to buy your clothes anymore, now I can’t even, nag you, when you see something you loved, just, buy it, and don’t wait, we don’t get that many, next times in life.”

After my mother passed away, on one of my return visits to the hospital, the couture shop set out a floral printed, fun sort of a blouse, and like I normally would, struggled a few seconds, then, suddenly, I’d recalled what my mother told me, and, got into the shop.

I’d rarely purchased my own clothing, and, in the shop, I saw, nothing but colors, blaring at me, but as the store owner helped me, I’d successfully, bought the clothes that look good on me, that I’d, liked, at the time, I had this feel of, “it’s all mine!”

And ever since, the days I returned to visit the doctor’s office, became the days of, opening up my wallet, I’d, often, “accidentally” brought home a few pieces.  And the style that’s now in my closet, became the brighter colors, from my mother’s preferences of steady, and saturated colors.  Although, I’m at the age of decluttering, but, so what if, I’m, “squandering” away, using the rest of my life, to live as my, true, self?

So, this is, a huge step for the woman, she’d, finally, gotten out of her, comfort zone, and started, purchasing the clothes that made her look “brighter”, and she’d become her own woman, as she aged into her, mature adulthood years now.

What Say You...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.