Returning to School to Recharge Ourselves, Girlfriends, Looking Out for One Another

How to age gracefully, with our minds active, our friends all around us, offering us the social and emotional support, off  of the Newspapers, translated…

The cultures, the society of Taiwan right now, still held firm to the beliefs of “men getting married and women married off is the best way”, and, as I’m past marrying age, I’m still, single, but I’m, getting along well as a single woman.

Because I’m independent, and focused solely on work in my primes, I’d not had any major issues in living alone, until two years ago, when I’d switched tracks, my life is not packed up with work, and I’d started, experiencing anxiety in the vacant moments when I had too much time on my hands, in a chance encounter, I’d decided to return to school, and, as I’d gone to school, I’d found, that there are, a lot of women who are, just like me, still single.

the writer with her group of friends with whom she socializes with, after retirement, returning back to school to take up the hobby courses…photo courtesy of UDN.com

And because of this, I’d gotten, a group of, girlfriends, and we’d often, invited one another to share our cooking, to go out hiking, to ride together, to run marathons, etc., etc., etc., my life became, fulfilled, through getting into the crowds to interact with others, I started becoming, more optimistic, outgoing, the positive energies now radiate from my body, my mind, and my soul, the group of us also made that pact, other than keeping up with our finances regularly, we will care for one another after we retired, in the future, we’re not, all, alone.

Actually, being single is public enemy that in the past, living alone isn’t specialized to the elderly populations, instead, it’d become, a sort of a, trend, as well as a course we all need to, master, living alone isn’t synonymous with lonely or alone, the ways of life in modern  day society is fitted to the single living lifestyles, so long as we can manage our times well, plan our finances, find that sense of belonging, and learn to get along well with “lonely”, living alone, is also, a good way to grow, old.

And so, contrary to the beliefs of the past of how we need someone by our sides, now we don’t, because we’d become, more and more independent, and many women are too focused at work, climbing that ladder higher up in our primes, that many of us, aren’t dating, aren’t married, or having children, so what?  We can be just as happy and free, so long as we find that thing that keeps our minds engaged, that skill set we can live off of, and those hobbies we can pursue, once we get to, retirement age, oh, and friends, to hang, to socialize with, that’s, important, too.

What Say You...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.